iAdventures

When In Baler

Baler is the provincial capital of Aurora, Philippines. As a kid, I’ve always wanted to visit Baler ever since I saw a movie about the place. So,  when my mom invited me to join their office’s out-of-town trip, I immediately took the opportunity. Since I was actually stuck with a bunch of oldies (I’m sorry, Ma! HAHA!), I didn’t actually get to explore Baler as much as I’d like to/would have. Oh, fun fact: Manuel L. Quezon’s from Baler.

Anyway, here’s a really short video I posted on Instagram of when I was trying to capture their awesome waterfalls. Apparently, I deleted the supposedly said video so here’s a clip of me trying to capture… I honestly don’t know.

13239400_174443832952903_4247765005082454447_nIsn’t it beautiful?

We all know I’m a very weird kid – I’m being honest here – so, me being the weird kid that I am, I actually went to Baler to look for fish balls. If you don’t know what fish balls are, it’s a common street food here in the Philippines made out of cuttlefish. Anyway, I only found them at the Baler Public Market.

13220919_173970659666887_8296960903189640077_nRocky islets in Diguisit Bay

Baler is known for their awesome beaches, so if you’re looking for a place to surf, Baler is the right place to visit. I actually didn’t get to surf even though I wanted to because, well, I’m scared. Let me redeem myself, I’m not actually afraid of the water, I just don’t like it when I can’t see where what I’m stepping on.

On our first night, my mom and her workmates decided to look for a bar. I actually forgot what the street is called (Forgive me, my memory is honestly really bad), but it’s basically a street where all the bars/clubs are at. There are also hotels scattered around the area. Correct me if I’m wrong but I believe it’s near Sabang beach. Just ask any tricycle driver from there to take you to where the bars/clubs at.

For lunch, we decided to eat at Gerry Shan’s. This is just my opinion, and I’m no food expert, but I was honestly disappointed. I guess the hype didn’t actually live up to its expectations. For what it’s worth, I’d actually recommend eating at those small restaurants. On another note, since you’re already in Baler, why not indulge in some awesome seafood? If you’re renting a house, buy some at the local market place to save some money.

Alright, I’m done! I’m sorry if I didn’t seem helpful at all. My phone decided to die on me four hours after I actually got there. I would love to come back and explore some more if I could. I hope you guys have fun!

iacchng

Leave a Reply

